Posted by: blogone | February 27, 2006

That time of year again…

 

 

JOKE:

Person 1: What are you giving up for Lent?

Person 2: Licking the bowl clean. I'm going to flush it like everyone elese.

Boom Boom.

Lent is upon us again. I've decided to give up the booze for Lent. Andrea is new to the concept. I explained that there are forty days in Lent, excluding Sundays and the days are marked by fasting and acts of penance. Generally people give something up for Lent, usually something they enjoy – wouldn’t make much sense to give up beating yourself with bamboo sticks; unless you enjoy it! I recounted the times growing up and giving up sweets, sugar or something sweet. I have never been able to take sugar in tea or on cereals since and I don’t have a sweet tooth. What will happen to me if I give up booze and I can’t go back to it? What will become of me?

Health benefits, monetary benefits, increase in mental capacity.

These are just some of the downsides of staying off the booze. How many times have you heard people say, or have said…“money doesn’t bring happiness”, “…that guy thinks he knows everything and check out the six pack, that SOB must work out all the time…” They don’t prepare you for this in school.

I was thinking about a great film the other day, ‘Whithnail and & I’ with Richard E. Grant and Paul McGann. I can hear the voice of Grant as Whithnail bursting into the living room saying “I NEED BOOOOOZE” and can imagine myself doing the same and Andrea looking at me thinking “that boy needs help”. I’m in two minds whether to go for a beer tonight or leave it. I won’t be drinking tomorrow so my lent will unofficially start tomorrow. Okay I’ll go for a beer tonight.

I’d love to read comments from other people about what they plan to give up and why – click on the comment link below to add your comment.

There is a Mardi Gras festival in San Diego tomorrow evening. I’ll be working at the Field Irish pub in a security capacity. I hope it won’t be as soul destroying as the Guinness gig (see previous post).

It’s now 19:00 in San Diego it has been raining today. First time since I’ve been here that it has rained so much and it’s nice to hear cars passing outside with the noise that splash sound that a car makes on a wet road.

For now friends,

Bye.

Some information:

Lent

Lent (also called the Lenten Season) is a 40-day period of fasting and repentance in preparation for the celebration of Easter.

It has been observed since apostolic times as a period of reflection and penitence for those who would be baptized on Easter, and a time for all sinners to repent. Lent was originally observed for six weeks excluding Sundays (36 days), but this was eventually extended to 40 days in order to parallel Christ's temptation in the wilderness.

In the Western Churches, Lent begins on Ash Wednesday (six and a half weeks before Easter). In the early history of the church, strict fasting was observed throughout this period. One meal was allowed per day, in the evening, and meat, fish, eggs, and butter were forbidden. Strict observance of fasting was discontinued among Roman Catholics during World War II, and today is rarely observed throughout the Lenten Season. However, Ash Wednesday and Good Friday are still fast days for the Catholic Church, and the emphasis on Lent as a period of penitence remains. Many Christians, especially Catholics, choose to give up a single indulgence (like chocolate, french fries or cola) for the 40-day period as a sign of repentance and an exercise in self-control.

Eastern Churches continue to observe a strict fast during "Great Lent," which begins on the Monday of the seventh week before Easter and ends on the Friday preceding Good Friday. As in the early church, meat, fish, eggs, and butter are forbidden, as are wine, oil, and dairy products.

 

 

Responses

  1. well? have you managed to stay off the booze? did you have your pancakes yesterday.. mmmmmmm pancakes…

  2. You know Mardi Gras comes from the French for Greasy Tuesday – when all the fat and grease was used before the scarcities of lent. As for Carnival – which is what happens on Mardi Gras that comes from the italian Carne Vale – which means “the meat is gone” – I know, an endless source of useless information.


Leave a Reply

Categories

