Posted by: blogone | April 11, 2006

I wish I knew how to quit you…

I’ve completed day two of my work at the Italian restaurant. Vito didn’t train me after all. I was working with a couple of the other main cooks. There are usually two to three cooks on in an evening. The first ‘main cook’, looks after the big dishes, while the ‘other guy’ looks after the pizza, salads and breads. I’m being trained up to be the ‘other guy’. There are a lot of instructions being fired around as the food tickets come in and timing, like great comedy is the key to success.

I hope that I get the hang of this soon; the obstacles in my way at this time are small yet many. Example:

  • I don’t speak Spanish. I’ll be compiling a list of common phrases, from the Internet, of Spanish words to assist me to talk to one of the cooks and the dishwasher. I don’t know if anyone reading this can appreciate being told by someone what to do, when they don’t speak much English and I’m hoping to figure out from their gestures what they are trying to explain to me.
  • The main guy that I work with appears to be stoned while working. I’m not sure what to think about this, so I just ignore it – for now.
  • Lots and lots of people hanging around the yard behind the kitchen. This is a frustration because they know the main cook and hang about to talk to him (I don’t know if its related to ‘D/use’ or other) however its really makes me conscious when people are walking in the way of the oven when I’ve got a Pizza or need to ask a question.

There are other things that bother me however I’m sure like all obstacles that come my way, I’ll overcome them or triumph or overcome by ignoring them.

I met one of the ‘cousins’ tonight, also called Vito, and he was saying (not directly to me but to the main cook) that his friend had called to say that he had rented Brokeback Mountain and he was calling over to watch it. Vito said ‘I got my stuff and left, I ain’t watching that movie.’ I told him that I watched it the other night and I thought it was a fantastic movie. Vito looked at me and said ‘WHAT’S THE MATTER WITH YOU?’ I said ‘many things’, but it’s a good movie. It was funny to me because it struck me a real ‘alpha male’ attitude. There was something very Italian/American about the way he said that that mad me think about renting Casio or Goodfellas later on in the week.

If you have not watched Brokeback Mountain, I highly recommend it. It is a really fantastic move. For a great review of the movie click here , if anything it will give you a laugh. The movie is from a short story by Annie Proulx. If you want to read the original short story click here or leave a comment with your email and I'll send it to you. Its a fantastic story.

 

At the moment Andrea is in the kitchen with her friends Deborah and Laura. They are having some sort of impromptu ‘girl discussion’, I can only speculate that it is something to do with an upcoming issue of Oprah, or nail polish. Andrea said something about ‘Anthropology work’, but I don’t buy it for a second. Anyway I’m in the room updating this while the murmur of laughs and wine bottles being opened are muffled in the background.

This week sees my three month mark here in San Diego. How time moves quickly.

Responses

  1. Don’t ya worry too much about the boys beeing stoned, it’s just California love
    man. Just think of the Dude in da Big Lebowkski… harmeless.

    But don’t wear the wrong colors around these vatos hombre, cause the can get loco on your ass..


Leave a Reply

Categories

