Posted by: blogone | May 11, 2006

One movie you should NOT see.

It bothers me when I rent a movie with high expectations and its a real let down. Last week Andrea and I decided to rent a DVD. I'd read some movie reviews a few weeks before and one that stuck in my head was 'Hostel'. I don't remember where I read the review, if it was print or on-line, but it sounded like a good idea for a movie and it was produced by Quentin Tarantino.

Andrea and I went to Lackluster, aka Blockbuster, Video pick something up. Not much in the way of choice and Andrea noticed Hostel was in. "I'm in the mood for something scary", said Andrea. I said okay, happy with the choice.

Hostel is a horror movie. A really bad horror movie that isn't worth the cost of the DVD its burned onto. The movie lacks directing skill, decent characters and an engaging story. After ten minutes I was bored. There are scenes in the movie that just try to shock and terrify you. It fails. Badly.

The director, Eli Roth, has a view that the audience are idiots and will be satisfied by hot women and special FX like toes being cut off, burst eye-ball fluid running down a face etc. The characters are one dimensional. They don't really have anything much to say. Thinking back, there is only one scene in the movie that hints and character development and its terrible.

I had a look at the extra features on the DVD. There is a behind the scenes movie that looks at special effects etc. I had a look at that and that was terrible. There are loads of shots with the director talking about how difficult it is to use a toilet in Prague.

Eli Roth strikes me as man-boy. A grown up with a the humour of a pre-pubescent teen who has never spoken to a girl and finds toilet humour really really funny. I could be wrong. I doubt it though.

Do yourself a favour, don't rent, buy, pay the price of a movie ticket or read any reviews (including this one) of Hostel. It is pure horse s**t. I'd rather sit and watch David Blane hold his breath in a big bubble thing for four days.

Andrea thought it was crap and not very scary too.

Responses

  1. Thanks for the heads-up, or maybe the thumbs-down. Also, I like the new look here.

    Honestly, I don’t think I would’ve rented Hostel. I lost my appetite for sadistic movies a long time ago. Come to think of it, I’ve never like purely sadistic movies. I tend to close my eyes and stick my fingers in my ears during the chainsaw scene in Scarface. Yeah, I’m a pussy, I admit it.

  2. Thanks Doug. I decided to change the layout because I like the look of Balls & Walnuts. Great blog. Keep it up!

  3. I saw Hostel on the big screen, my first thoughts were that the Slovak Tourist board would be pissed off with it’s potrayal of their country, the rest was as you said – terrible, and yeah, that eyeball fluid scene along with the skinny guy falling on his own chainsaw put the final nail in the coffin for me on that movie…. The only part I thought was somewhat funny was when they guy ran the two chicks over with the car. Hey Al, that guy Oli ( The Icelandic) reminded me of you somewhat.. don’t know why…. Keep well dude


Leave a Reply

Categories

