Posted by: blogone | May 24, 2006

Where did the summer go?

Although exams finished only last week for Andrea and the results have been posted it is time for her to go back to SDSU for summer classes.  I went with her today and we decided to ride the number 11 bus from University Avenue to SDSU.  I’ve taken this bus before, but it was Andrea’s first time to take this route.  It takes approximately 30 minutes and it passes though Normal Heights and University Heights among other places. 

Andrea has decided that she’s not going to buy a parking pass for SDSU this semester.  The reason is that its $160 and very often its hard to find parking. 

Andrea told me about an article she read a while ago in which a couple gave up making purchases for one year. I don’t know what they aimed to achieve by doing this.  There is a book out called, (I’ll have to get the details of the book from Andrea and add here later), where the author did the same thing for one year and details her experiences.

Imagine that for one moment.  Not buying anything new for one year. 

I don’t have all the details of the rules they laid down for themselves but it’s an interesting idea.  No new items for one year and no buying anything that you can’t reuse. 

*For example if you buy a coffee you might have to bring your own cup because you can’t reuse the paper cup.

Andrea is thinking about trying this.  I suggested to work up to it in stages.  Try it for one day, then one week, then one month over a period of time. 

I might try it for one week to see.  I don’t know if I’d be bothered with doing it for one year.  I’m still considering…

It’s quiet today on campus, not many people around.  I’m sitting in Starbucks drinking my usual beverage, the sun is blazing down outside. 

Its hot outside, I’m cool inside.  All is good.

 

*Probably a bad example that might leave JK or LC commenting, 'you could reuse the cup for someting else', this I know. šŸ™‚ 

Responses

  1. You are definitely on the right track with the whole paper cup idea. Check this out:

    http://www.portlandmercury.com/portland/Content?oid=29552&category=34029

    These guys have done some serious research on the whole cup thing and have both been baristas.. so they know what they are talking about. It doesn’t make Starbucks look too good, but then this could be any large chain of coffee shops in just about any country.

    So, kudos to you both for giving this a try. I presume you can make exceptions for stuff like toothbrushes, soap, toilet paper etc. or is that wishful thinking?

  2. Wow that’s a fantastic article, with some shocking facts and figures.

    I’m making changes.

  3. […] The Mystery of Modernity posted comment on one of my posts. MoM linked to a really interesting article about paper cups. The article was written by two baristas at a coffee shop called World Cup Coffee and Tea. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

