Posted by: blogone | October 1, 2006

Serpentes on a Shippe

A colleague sent me a link to a blog that takes a bit of work to read and if you do it is well worth it. It’s written in Middle English and its written by none other than the author of ‘The Canterbury Tales’ in the 14th century. Geoffrey Chaucer Hath a Blog.

There’s a funny review of ‘Serpentes on a Shippe’ or ‘Snakes on a Plane’ as you and I might know it.

I told Maggie about it and she went to the site to have a look. She spotted something on the site that just cracked her up. On the top of the page it reads Thow kanst buye a Chaucer Blog t-shirte if it pleseth thee.” Maggie spotted a t-shirt and cracked up laughing. What made her giggle so?

Click below to find out.


The translation is: “I wish I knew how to quit you”

Classic.

Responses

  1. Laugh nat at that t-shirte, for yt is from a tale of tragedie from myn owene yonge yeeres!

    http://houseoffame.blogspot.com/2006/03/ich-and-perle-poete-on-mont-dorse.html

  2. I hope that a literary genius such as you can understand this modern language that I write. I have to say your blog is one of the best I’ve seen. My girlfriend really likes it and hopes that this will score her a free T-Shirt! Another classic T-Shirt “I study medieval literature because that’s where the money is.” Fantastic.


Leave a Reply

Categories

